Vegan- TOFU with Tutti Frutti Cake and Tofutti Creamcheese Frosting

Hello,

Back with a new experiment in my baking. Yes –  It’s a Tofu cake. A power packed protein dessert. I was not sure I can bake using this recipe. Because, when I thought about this Soy Cheese, the foremost impression is it could be bland with no taste. But with my experiment, I m totally wrong and this super moist cake fascinated me which I could bake this more and more. Today in my post I wanted to show you the ingredients I used and the baking steps I followed.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Silken Tofu
1 1/2 cups All purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tbsp baking soda
a pinch salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
1/2 tsp Vanilla essence

Notes:

Silken Tofu – You can get it from any food/grocery stores.

_MG_8860
Organic Vanilla Soy milk – You can get it from any store. I got this from Costco.
TuttiFrutti – From stop n shop
I have used less vanilla essence as the soy milk already contains vanilla.

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350F, Puree the tofu well until completely smooth. No lumps should form and this will change the cake texture. While pureeing, add soy milk and vanilla essence and blend altogether for better taste and keep it aside.

Sift the flour,baking soda,baking powder together and add a pinch salt. In an another bowl,mix the oil,sugar,tofu puree and beat everything for a while.

Gradually add the dry ingredients little by little until they get well combined. Pour the batter to the greased cake pan,sprinkle few tutti fruti chunks on the top and bake for 30-35minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Here is the finished cake._MG_8883

Tofutti Cream Cheese Frosting:

Beat 5 tbsp of toffutti cream cheese with 1/2 cup  powered sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla essence to make the frosting.

Since Jan 26th is India’s republic day, I wanted to decorate my cake in India’s flag. Hence the result.

_MG_8886

With Love ♥Prashanthi♥

About theprashanthiravinutalablog

Hi

Posted on January 29, 2014, in My Love to Bake. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

