Life is colorful! Holi treats

Happy Holi to everyone!

Colors always play vital role in everyone’s life in the whole wide world. They make you happy, fall you in love, they attract your attention, change your moods, also the powerful form of communication. I love the Blue color most. Anytime i can feel the beauty, elegant, peace and purity in this color. I know all have their favorite colors and they always feel special in those colors. Life is colorful! Lets enjoy the God’s creations and promote Love and Peace!

This year Holi (An Indian Spring festival of colors and love celebrated in the honor of Lord Krishna. This festival signifies the victory of good over evil, the beginning of spring and end of winter and play with the colors with happiness), I played with the colors too in my baking. Here is the technique and the recipe of the “Holi Cupcakes” in my segment “my love to bake”. Enjoy baking and enjoy the festival!

Ingredients:

2 Cups All purpose flour
1 tblsp Baking powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
2 Cups Sugar
2 Organic Large Eggs at Room temperature
1 Cup(2 sticks) Unsalted Butter at room temperature
1 tblsp Pure Vanilla Extract
1 Cup Organic Milk

Technique:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and baking soda. Set aside. In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugar gradually and beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the dry ingredients in parts, alternating with the milk and vanilla. With each addition, beat until the ingredients are incorporated but do not over beat.

Divide the batter in five bowls. Now take the edible food colors (your choice. I choose Blue, red, Green, Orange, Yellow) and add a little of each color in the five different batters and mix them well to get desired dyed batter. Take a cupcake pan and spray with oil to avoid stickiness after baking (I’m not using cupcake liners as the tie-dye will showoff as liners 😉 ) and spoon the each colored batter one after other in the pan (as shown in the picture) fill them about 3/4 full which looks like multicolor batter in each cup. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Cool them completely and now its turn to do some fun part, icing the cupcakes.

Fotor0316164734

IMG_9945

Fotor0316164927

Butter cream icing: In a bowl add 1 cup unsalted butter beat in medium speed until smooth. Then add powdered sugar 3-4 cups and beat until everything is incorporated. later add 2 tblsp of milk to the icing and beat it for 5 minutes. After that scrape the bowl and mix the icing well to check it it is all blended well. Place the icing in the piping bag and use the tips that suits and start icing the cupcakes.

_MG_9949Fresh from Oven. Oh my! I just loved the Holi colors cupcakes.

I feel proud and at the same time guilty that I wish I could use the natural food colors like using veggies and fruits. I really wanted my cupcakes purely from the nature. No chemicals Added. I try to follow this in my future recipes. I will improvise the cupcakes/cakes that I bake by using the colors from the Nature.

I truly want my family, friends, children, and people to savor my sweet treats. 🙂

IMG_9955

With Love,
♥Prashanthi.♥
About theprashanthiravinutalablog

Hi

Posted on March 16, 2014, in My Love to Bake. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey Prashanthi,

    Loved ur colorful thought.. gud to see ur blog, u r sooooooo creative. I wish i too have done something for holi.. I too will try ur recipes..

    Love u,
    lavanya

    Like

  2. Add Color to your Life 😛 Bravo !

    Like

Leave a Reply

