Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Another kid-friendly and kid approved baking post. As I said, we have a chocolate fan (Arya, my elder son) in house and demands some snack related to it. He loves chocolate chip cookies and I have decided to bake these healthy vegan cookies. Like all moms, I don’t  want my son to indulge on too much chocolate and whatever he eats, make sure it is healthy.  Hence did my online search on the cookies and found the recipe from mycaliforniaroots.com (https://www.google.com/amp/mycaliforniaroots.com/vegan-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe/amp/). This recipe is so easy and looks delicious. Thank You Raquel!!!

I am posting the recipe which is pretty much same as in the above link with some ingredients changes like I added Rolled oats flour, *Coconut oil and *Coconut Palm Sugar. Please have a look and try these and I bet they will turn out deliciously chewy inside and crispy outside. My 6 year old expresses his “YUMMMM” moment whenever he snack on them. 🙂

_MG_4050

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp ground flax + 3 Tbsp water
1 cup Organic Unbleached All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Rolled Oats Flour (Pan roast the rolled oats and blend them to fine powder)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup Organic Coconut Oil, Melted*
1/2 cup Organic Coconut Palm Sugar*
1/3 cup Organic White Sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips

Preparation:
Make the flax seed meal using whole grain flax seeds and grinding it to powder and then add water to it and keep it aside.( I have Flax seeds hence I did this. If you have Flax meal powder use it directly.)
Mix the two sets of flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and keep aside.
Take the melted coconut oil and add the sugars and whisk vigorously for about 2 minutes.
Now add the flax meal mix and the vanilla to the oil mix, and whisk well until combined.
Add the flour mix to the Coconut oil mixture and stir together with a rubber spatula or wood spoon just until combined – do not overmix. Add the chocolate chips and gently fold into the batter.
Drop by the heaping tablespoon onto the baking sheet. Bake for 12-14 minutes, rotating once, until just barely beginning to brown on the bottom. They will look underdone on top. Remove from the oven and let cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes. Enjoy them once they cool down.

_MG_4054

Notes:
Lately I have been using coconut oil instead of butter in my baking because it is a good fat and a plant based saturated fat which is healthy for your body and heart. And I have no issues when it comes to taste. They taste as good as the same when using butter. Moreover I was born and brought up at the tropical side of the south India and lived at coastal region which is famous for coconuts and the water was our thirst quenchers.

Coconut Palm sugar is the new product to my baking shelf. I am loving it. I read and heard it has low Glycemic Index value and good for diabetes patients. And more over this is plant based product too. It almost close to brown sugar and has very few calories.

With Love,
♥Prashanthi♥

About theprashanthiravinutalablog

Hi

Posted on March 16, 2017, in My Love to Bake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

